Tomatoes Running Amok

Standard

After two years of working a backyard plot where an RV had been parked for 25 years, I think… I HOPE…. I have finally conditioned the soil and coaxed it back to life.

In March, I planted out these three tomatoes plants and sowed some zucchini, cucumber, and cantaloup seeds.

Two months later I have gargantuan tomatoes bushes running amok in the yard, threatening to overcome the zukes and cukes.  So my dad and I put stakes in the ground this morning and tied the vines up.

The Early Girl bush is heavy with green fruit.  Yes, I do have a basil plant growing nearby.   We are going to feast well in a few weeks!

The Wayward Pelican (c) 2011

6 responses »

  1. There is somethihng about growing your own food that satisfies like nothing else in the world. Lori, I miss the vegetable garden in Oregon so much again!! Nothing compares to tomatoes fress off the vine.

    Shelling peas never make it inside, they get shelled and eaten, like candy.Eat a tomato off the vine for me please sweetie.

Leave a Reply

