Making Scents #3: Bath Salts

Standard

I was listening to a podcast of an energy healer the other day, and she said that to clear negative energy from the body one should take a saltwater bath.  This was intriguing to me so I did some research.  I did not find much about the energetic benefits of saltwater baths, but I did find that hydrotherapy is a health practice with a long and respected history.   In Alternative Medicine: The Definitive Guide, (Burton Goldberg Group 1994)  I read that the benefits of hydrotherapy includes stimulating the immune system, removing toxins from the body through the skin, easing sore muscles and inducing a state of relaxation.

All that in a tub of water.  Who knew? …..  Well, actually I did know, but I don’t utilize bath salts that often.   Given that my daily activities and preparations for the holidays have left me a bit undone and stressed out, I decided to treat myself to a relaxing soak in a saltwater bath.  After googling around the internet I gleaned this basic recipe:

4 tablespoons of sea salt  (never, never use iodized table salt)
4 tablespoons of baking soda
4 drops of lavender oil.

Just a note about lavendar oil:  if you have no other essential oil on hand, let it be lavender oil.  If you use it for no other purpose, let it be that it relieves anxiety and calms the mind.

I mixed up these ingredients with a fork and then sprinkled it into the tub as it was filling with hot water.  Just a note of caution:  this concoction made the bottom of my bathtub slippery.  If you do this at home, be very careful getting in and out of the tub.

I don’t know if my biofield was cleared of negative energy, but when I emerged from the bath after a thirty minute soak, every muscle was relaxed and I headed off to a good night’s sleep.

Thanks for reading.

Lori G./The Wayward Pelican

One response »

Leave a Reply

