Mind Body Class #8: The Last Meeting

Standard

I can’t help thinking of the lyrics from the Grateful Dead song, Truckin’

Sometimes the light’s all shinin’ on me;
Other times I can barely see.
Lately it occurs to me
What a long, strange trip it’s been.

I think I’ve fared better than the sad Sweet Jane in this song, but the road I’ve taken to completely change my lifestyle has been a strange one indeed.  Our Mind Body class had it’s last meeting yesterday evening. We reviewed all the heatlh practices and thinking strategies we had explored in the past two months. We addressed the need of developing an continuing action plan to keep from falling back into unhealthful ways.

The final task we were instructed to do was to go home and write a letter to ourselves, exploring our feelings, behaviors, our plans on where we want to be in the future, and to give ourselves some advice. We are to seal that letter, put it away, and mark our calendars to read that letter in six months.

In writing that letter this morning, I reflected on how I got to this point. It all started with a cut finger last February. I had lacerated the top knuckle of my left forefinger while opening a can. The next day I went to the doctor to have it examined. The finger was fine but the doctor began to rag on me about some ongoing issues that could affect my health. This led me to take a nutrition class, which led me to take a stress class, which led me enroll in this mind body class. From the gushing blood of that wound, I come to a place where I have the tools to heal my whole self.

The previous week, we had been asked to bring something to class that shows something about ourselves. I decided to bring some prints of digital mandalas I had made. I realized that I hadn’t made a new one in quite some time, so in honor of our “graduation”, I constructed this one. I call it “Wellness”.

green health small

Pretty cool, don’t you think…. and ultimately, not so strange after all.

Thanks for joining me in this journey.

Signing off for now.

Lori G.

Image and text:  Lori G. (c) 2010

5 responses »

  1. I’d say you have been on quite a journey. And, you know, it’s not over. You are going to be moving on, and armed as you are with all that you have learned these past months, how can you not meet with success. Way to go, girl!

    Vi

  2. We do come to things through interesting paths, don’t we? Enjoy your journey, Lori. I’ll be interested to see where it takes you next!

  3. it sounds as if this was a fascinating course and I hope it will have helped to solve your problem of not sleeping properly. Even if it didn’t you will probably have met some interesting people and will now be taking off in new directions.

Leave a Reply

