Mind Body Class #5

Standard

lotus pond 2Last night’s class rocked!  I walked away feeling like there is nothing that I could not handle, no problem that I cannot resolve, no emotional turmoil that I could not banish away with a single thought.  No, I’m not yet able to leap tall buildings in a single bound.  But I’m getting there.

We talked about Core Beliefs and Positive Affirmations.

Now, I’ve heard of these both before:  core beliefs are all those horrible things we believe about ourselves like “I’m backwards,  I’m worthless, I will never do anything worthwhile in my whole life ever.”  And then there are the positive affirmations we say to reverse these core beliefs:   “I’m smart, I’m valued, I do amazing things that will leave my mark on society.”

Like I said, I am not unfamiliar with the concept of positive affirmations.  Sometimes when I encounter a somewhat stressful situation in the company of others, I’ll try to break the tension by mimicking the classic meditation pose — pinching my fingers together and closing my eyes — and saying “I am calm, I am serene, breeeeathe!”

However, when the class facilitator started explaining how affirmations actual reroute and create new neural pathways in our brains and bring about new ways of thinking, desired behaviors, and physical conditions in the body,   I put aside my preconceived notions and really listened.

Affirmations are short, articulated in the present tense, and stated only in positive terms.

We did a couple of exercises and I developed a short list of affirmations off the cuff.  They are:  “I am totally healthy.  I embrace only positive thoughts.  I like all people.  My attitude is optimistic.  I sleep soundly through the night.”

Our homework was to expand that list and start writing them down and placing them in our environment and to frequently speak them aloud to myself.     Today I pored over some books from my personal library that I knew had some affirmations and added some more to my list:  “I am strong, I am centered, I achieve my goals.  Joy rises up in me.  There is a a divine plan of goodness for me.  I am willing to let God create through me.”

So, the next time you see me sitting there in a meditation pose and muttering to myself, I might not be joking around.

Text and image:  Lori G. (c) 2010

2 responses »

  1. Affirmations have never worked for me, but after reading your post I think I’m not going about them in the right way.

    I am so happy for you, Lori. It’s obvious that your mind/body class is working so well for you. I look forward to your posts on this subject.

    Vi

Leave a Reply

