Mmmmmm, Mmmmm Good!

Standard

This week’s adventure in “Cooking through My Bookshelves” takes us to an oldie but goodie:   Tomato Soup.

I know this might not be everyone’s favorite, but I used to love having a bowl of this soup along with a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch on a rainy Saturday.  Yeah…. while watching cartoons…..     Mmmmm, mmmm good.

This version, though, is not from the red and white labeled can.  My adaptation is of a recipe from The Santa Monica Farmer’s Market Cookbook —  Classic Tomato Soup with Goat Cheese Swirl.   It’s an adaptation because the recipe’s author used 4 pounds of fresh tomatoes (which I refuse to peel), a leek (which I refuse to de-gritify), and fresh chervil (which I believe is some sort of rodent, isn’t it?   😉

My version is as easy as possible.

In a soup pot I sauteed in a few tablespoon of olive oil the contents of a container of Trader Joe’s mirepoix, which is about 2/3 of a cup each of finely chopped onion, carrots, and celery if you want to do it yourself.

While these veggies were cooking, I opened a can of Trader Joe’s Plum Tomatoes (no, I’m not working for TJs — I just shop there a lot).  I pureed the tomatoes in a food processor and when the veggies were softened, I added the puree to them.  (I’m thinking now that a can of San Marzano tomatoes would have been even more awesome.)

After mixing the puree and veggies, I added about 2 1/2 cups of broth.  I meant to use vegetable broth, but after I dumped it in the pot, I realized that I had opened a container of chicken broth.   Not bad, but vegetable broth would have been better.

I made a garni bouquet in cheesecloth of fresh parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme (yes, just like the song) and added it along with some salt and cracked black pepper to taste to the pot.

I brought the mixture to a boil, covered the pot and reduced the heat.  I let it simmer for about a half hour.

I turned off the heat and let it cool for a few minutes before pureeing it in a blender in small batches (after taking out the cheesecloth bag of course).

After spooning a serving into a soup bowl, I added a half inch slice of goat cheese (yes, TJ’s goat cheese) and then swirled it around until it melted.   Add more pepper if you think it needs it.

Surprisingly, considering the soup is mostly vegetables, a bowl was quite satisfying and filling.   This version makes about 4 good sized servings.

Lori G (c) 2010

2 responses »

  1. More good eats! I like your style and happen to love Tomato soup. The goat cheese is an added delight, must give it a little zing.

  2. The Chervil is closely related to the Gerbil and adds a certain ‘je ne sais quoi’ to the taste of the soup. If you don’t have one you could substitute two mice, I would think 🙂 Sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

