January Garden

Standard

I have earthworms!  Fat, moist, wiggly gray earthworms. 

Now, let me explain to those of you who are new.  Last August, in the middle of high summer in my neck of the woods, I had the opportunity to plant a garden in the yard of a relative.  The plot of land had been covered for over twenty years by an RV.  So when I cleared the weeds, I discovered a concrete hard plot of dead ground.  Nevertheless, I tried to plant a very late garden.  I was only moderately succesful.  (Read my previous posts).   I decided that I just had not given the ground enough time to nourish itself through my ministerings of manure and mulch.

Yesterday, I pulled out all the dead tomato and squash vines.  I left the two plantings that really took hold:  Italian parsley and a couple of Best Boy tomato bushes (seen here).    Before I spread another sack of manure, I began turning over the areas of soil that I plan to replant in a couple of months.  Lo and behold, I found hundreds of earthworms.  Then, looking around on the remaining plants in the garden, I saw many ladybugs, like so many tiny ruby-red jewels.    Finally, I unearthed a seedpod from one of the huge magnolia trees in the front yard of the house.   I had dug up a winter food cache of one of the squirrels that hang around the neighborhood.

Life is coming back!   The micro-ecosystem of my garden is coming back online.  I hope this is a sign of good things to come this spring and summer.   In light of all the death and destruction I’ve been seeing this week on the news, this was a most welcome reminder where there is life, there is hope.

Lori G. (2010)

8 responses »

  1. I love the moment when you discover the beginnings of new life, even though the trees are still bare and everything looks dead. Makes you think spring may not be so far away after all. Good luck with this project and hope to see more posts as the year progresses.

  2. ooh how exciting – i love to watch nature at work . Are you making a compost heap – even a small one – i started a new one earlier this year and am astounded at the amount of worms living therein – more like a wormery than a compost bin 🙂

  3. I love knowing that all over the world small paches of earth are being creatively conversed with and gardens are born. Mine is tiny and only in its second year (Australia), but I’m watching my green tomatoes become yellow, edging towards the ripeness of red. Thanks for keeping the inspiration alive.

  4. I think earthworms are a good sign that your soil is becoming more fertile if not more aerated Certainly they will do sterling work in turning over the underlying layers of soil for you.

Leave a Reply

