Chili Blanco

Standard

Continuing my plan to make healthier meals for myself this year, I made a “white” chili a few days ago from a recipe in The Whole Foods Market Cookbook. It was rather labor intensive, but I was pleased with the outcome.     The cookbook’s recipe makes 8 servings so the next time I make it I will cut the amount of ingredients way down.

In summary, I diced boneless skinless chicken breast  into 1/2 inch pieces and marinated the pieces for a short time in olive oil with ground cumin, oregano, chili powder, minced jalapeno pepper and garlic.

Then I sauted in a skillet the marinated chicken for a couple of minutes.  Then to the pan I added chopped celery, white onion, leek, green pepper, a tiny amount of chopped chipotle chilies in adobo, and a bit more cumin and oregano.   A couple of minutes later, I added chicken stock and canned white cannellini beans.  The recipe called for a cup of beer  but I did not had any so I replaced it with water.

I put the contents of the pan into a slow cooker and crocked it for a few hours (this is not in the recipe but I wanted the flavors to meld).  Just before serving I added lime juice, a bit of salt and a dollop of sour cream.

The chili was a bit brothy so the next time I make it I will cut back on the liquids. But let me tell you, this is a HOT chili so if you can’t deal with spicy food, then cut back on the jalapeno and the chipotle.

Today, I am home with a cold.  This dish has all the benefits of a good chicken soup and a spicy hot chili,  and is perfect for clearing the sinuses and warming the soul.   I’ll certainly make this one again.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

