Why’ja buy so many zucchini plants?

Standard

Last week when I bought all my little plantlings, I got three containers of zucchini squash.  They looked so large and leafy and lovely, I couldn’t resist them.    I didn’t get a chance to plant them last weekend so I just set them aside.

When I called my relative mid-week to find out how the plants were doing, he asked, “Why’ja buy so many zucchini plants?

“What?  I only bought three containers.  That’s not too many.”

“Yes it is when each container has six plants!  We’re gonna have a lot of zucchini to eat!”

Oh dear.

I went over to the house this morning to finish putting out the squash and other plants and discovered that my beans are already sprouting.  I just sowed them a week ago today and some of them are three inches tall already!

In my excitement, I came home this evening and I googled snap beans to find out the yield per plant.  I expected just a modest amount — enough for a serving a week for a couple of months or so.     I almost fell off my chair when I read the yield estimate is about four or five pounds of beans per plant.   Um…  I have 32 bean plants.    You do the math.

We still have a little more soil to dig up and we’re trying to figure out what else to plant.  (Certainly not beans or squash).   So far,  we’ve  planted 32 snap bean plants, cantaloupe seeds in an unknown quantity, five tomato plants in several varieties, a watermelon plant, three sweet pepper plants, one jalapeno pepper plant, French thyme, cilantro, basil, rosemary, lavender, and, of course, eighteen zucchini plants.

I’ll have to stick bags of produce in unlocked parked cars just to get rid of it all.

Until next time.

Farmer Lori

Lori G. (c) 2009

11 responses »

  1. Yikes! Not only do you have a green thumb, you must have nine more green digits! I never seem to have luck growing from seed, but that’s just me. How many people are you feeding besides yourself? I know…how about if you find a community garden and transplant a few.

    Around 30 years ago, I went through a poor stage. Someone left a crate of zuchinni on my porch and a joint. Now I have a bunch of recipes…

  2. Wow! You are going to be able to set up a stall at the local Farmer’s Market. Zucchinni is great in vegetable soups. It has the effect of thickening and I love thicker soups. The good old Zucchini slice is another great standby for lunches.

  3. and when a zuke or two get overlooked and become very large, you can make zuke parmesan from them, the same way you make eggplant parmesan. Tastes great and they can be frozen to be eaten in the winter.

  4. My mom’s neighbor has a delicious recipe for zucchini pickles. I’ve made zucchini salad and zucchini bread. Both are great. The best and the easiest is sauted zucchini. I got the recipe out of Bon Apetit years ago. You finely julienne the zucchini about the size of spaghetti. It’s really fast if you have a Japanese mandolin. Put a little butter or margarine in a frying pan. Add the zucchini and season to taste with salt and pepper. It’s ready in about 1-2 min. Good luck farmer Lori.

  5. hahaha, how wonderful! – you are going to be eating sooo many veggies – oh but the courgette plants are so beautiful, mind my skin doesn’t like the hairy leaves … but yum!
    What a great job you are doing 🙂

  6. Wow–sounds like it’s time to learn canning and dehydrating and all sorts of other tricks to store all of that that you can’t give away. Great job…and the zucchini plants…sounds like something I would do…buy three and end up w 18 …uh huh… I can so related…. 🙂

  7. Zucchini bread is yummy. Zucchini also goes well in soups, tomato sauces and fried. If all else fails, you can put it on a stranger’s doorstep, ring the bell and run away fast!
    Seriously, I find it fascinating that you are planting when we are trying to see how long we can last until a cold snap or heavy frost takes out our garden. In the meantime, we have LOTS of lettuce, radishes, spinach that we need to harvest because it is about to bolt, carrots that need a few more weeks, beans that need a few more weeks, green onions that may or may not make it, and one lonely little yellow summer squash plant that finally set blooms and has a squash starting to grow. The tomatoes and jalapenos are in pots; we can take then in if it gets too cold. Since we’ve already had a light frost, we are in a race against time.
    Best of luck with your garden. It looks like it will be wonderful.

  8. Not very big, Mary Beth. About 10 feet by 20 feet. And none of the 18 zucchini plants produced. We’ll try it again in the spring.

    Thanks for stopping by the blog.

    L.

Leave a Reply

