A New Project

Standard

Quite unexpectedly, I now have the opportunity to plant my own garden. Living in an apartment for nearly two decades, I could not pass up this chance. I come from very long line of earth people — farmers and gardeners — ever since my first ancestors crawled out of the primeval forests of Europe and broke open the soil. So, I figure I’ve got to keep the tradition alive one more generation and try my hand at coaxing some goodness out of the earth.

Since this garden is in a relative’s backyard and about a twenty minute drive from my home, I won’t be able to work on this project every day, but I figure if I put in a couple hours each weekend, I will be able to start planting in a few weeks. Even though it is late in the growing season, there are not  usually any frosts in this area so I should be able to have fresh produce all during the autumn and winter.

But, there is a lot to be done. Today, I spent an hour and a half clearing dead grass, trash and weeds from the plot. Next week, I’ll get rid of the pile of wood (in the picture below) and yank out the remaining weeds. In weeks to come, I will break up the ground and begin nourishing the soil. I hope to begin planting by the end of September (or sooner).   I will be documenting this endeavor with notes and photos.

Things are looking pretty bleak at the moment.   But I consider this little dust bowl like a blank canvas waiting for an artist.   I just hope I live up to the challenge.

I had to stop for the day when I filled my green barrel with dead weeds.  Thankfully, the trash man comes tomorrow just in time for next weekend’s fill-up.

Stay tuned.

Lori. G. (c) 2009

 

15 responses »

  1. Sounds great, Lori, good luck with it! I’ve often thought a “match-up system” between apartment dwellers and folks who have no time or energy to garden would be a wonderful community project. Imagine how much enjoyment each one would derive from it!

  2. My back is aching for you already. Shall I send you a supply of Tylenol now or later, and a back brace perhaps. Just kidding. A a sweet young thing like you will have that garden looking like a true canvas in nothing flat. Please do post pics of your progress.

    Vi

    • Thanks, Vi, I already had to dose up on aspirin but I am fine today. Sweet young thing? Oh my, Vi, but I do love you! I am hoping that this initial ground work will be the worst and it will be down hill gliding after I get things planted.

      Thanks for the words of encouragement, everyone!

  3. Lori-
    Flowers, Veggies or both?
    If you need some slips, stop by. The best time to get things in the ground is right after the Santa Anas. We are supposed to have a heavy El Nino so take that into account.
    Good Luck!

    • Veggies, for now. The plan at the moment is to go simple: Tomatoes, herbs, peppers, green beans, squash, maybe melon. We’ll see. It’ll be a two or three of weeks at least before I can get everything cleaned up and the soil prepared. I thought about El Nino. That could put a crimp in things, but I don’t think we will have frost.

      Thanks for stopping by the blog.

  4. Hi farmer Lori,

    You will love it. You are doing the hardest part right now, getting the ground ready. Check the season for planting your veggies. It might be a little late to plant some of the things you mentioned. Do you like radishes? That was my first crop I planted in jr. high in my floriculture class. Mr. Kinsella was the gardening teacher so he had all of us girls out in the fields planting radishes. I never liked radishes until I ate one of my home grown products. It was delicious and is fast growing, with a harvest time around 21 days. Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

    Ruby

    • Yeah, we’ll have to see what’s in the nursery when I go to plant. I’ve been reading up. I’m in USDA Zone 10 or Sunset magazine’s Zone 23, which means I can pretty much grow anything at any time except maybe in January. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

