Parsley Patch Update

Standard

An update on the apartment garden project:

As reported a few days ago, my lemon balm seeds have germinated.   Since then I’ve been wondering when the parsley would follow suit.  At first I thought I had ruined the process because I did not notice the instruction on the package that said to soak the seeds in water for 24 hours.  I googled parsley seeds and discovered that they are one of the hardest herbs to germinate.  So, for a few days I was convinced that once again I had proven to be the terror of the gardening realm.   Plants all over the world would cringe when they hear my name.  However, to my relief,  last night I found little sprouts of parsley plant, and this morning there are many more.

So, what’s the lesson here?  Simply this:  All things will emerge at the appointed time according to their nature.  I think there are things in my life that have blossomed and a great many that have yet to even germinate.  I’m inclined to fret over those that haven’t come forth yet.   There are goals in my life that are unfulfilled.  Have I worked at them?  Yes.  I’ve prepared the soil and planted the seeds.  Could I have messed things up?  Possibly, but I’m inclined to think that if I’ve done what I reasonably can do, then in their proper time, those goals will be accomplished.

The secret is learning to wait and let nature be.

Lori G. © 2007

4 responses »

  1. I do like your metaphor. It is so true. (By the way, I planted parsley in my herb bed; it didn’t grow all summer. Then, a few weeks ago, I found three or four seedlings – all around the edges of the bed and one in the petunias along the front edge! Everything in its own time, indeed!)

Leave a Reply

