My Favorite Green Potion

Standard

I went downtown today with the specific goal of getting a refreshing glass of Angela’s Green Potion.  This wonderfully divine elixir made of fresh lime juice, spinach juice, and mint leaves first came to my attention when I attended several catered affairs  by Homegirl Cafe where this drink was served.  It has been very hot and I had a hankering for some potion.  So I jumped on the Metrorail and headed to the outskirts of Chinatown where this small, but spiffy restaurant is located.

What is so special about this restaurant?   Homegirl Cafe is one of the many enterprises of Homeboy Industries, a ministry founded in the early 1990′s by Jesuit priest Gregory Boyle to “assist at risk and formerly gang-involved women and men to become contributing members of the community.”    Youths become a part of a one-year training program in catering, kitchen, barista, and gardening endeavors with many interning at prominent restaurants in the city.  Youths learn the skills that will lead them into economic empowerment.  The motto of Homeboys Industries is “Jobs, Not Jail.”

These days the church (including all flavors of Christianity) gets recognized more for its failings than for the things that it does right.  This, my friends, is an example of church being done right.

Yes, it took me three trains and over an hour to get to the cafe, but I want to support this ministry whenever I can.  As I sit here writing in my journal, I think no drink has ever tasted so good.

Yes, the potion does look like antifreeze but it tastes wonderful!

ljgloyd (c) 2012

 

One response »

  1. It is a lovely healthy shade of green. I’d like to use that color. Do you think it would work as paint? Seriously…I support your support of the ministry and their mission.

Leave a Reply

